Pay As You Go Electricity?

Discussion in Utilities started by rosemoon • Jun 23, 2016.

1. rosemoon

rosemoonActive Member

Threads:
    My family and I have been wanting to reduce our electric bill. We don't usually pay much, but since it's summer and the heat is intense, we have had to have our AC on 24/7. I've heard of services that offer pay as you go electricity, but I have no experience with it or what it entails. Does anyone have experience with such things?

2. Theo

TheoWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I imagine it costs more as companies have to install a meter. If you own the property you can do it, but not if you rent. In the UK people do have prepaid meters and they pay more per unit, and then have to top up at a shop on a card before they run out.

It's not convenient, and usually is for people on benefits or have little money. You can't switch back either, so I would probably not do it if I were you. If you own a property and then sell it on, it would not be helpful on a sale. I remember being at my friend's house and the television stopped suddenly because you don't actually know how much electricity you are using.

3. deansaliba

deansalibaActive Member

Threads:
    We had one up until three years ago. It was a type of key that you took to a shop and put money on and then when the money got low (or in some cases ran out) you would take it back to the shop and put more money on it. We were putting £10.00 a week on ours on a normal week. Now we have a quarterly meter and that works out to roughly the same price.

4. explorerx7

explorerx7Active Member

Threads:
    It's in my country in certain areas. You purchase a certain amount of kilowatt hours for usage the system if fitted with a warning mechanism to alert the customers when the hours are nearing a low level so that they will have time to top up before the hours run out. Something similar to buying airtime for your telephone.

5. Denis Hard

Denis HardWell-Known Member

Threads: