Paying With Post Dated Checks

Discussion in Bank Accounts started by Corzhens • Aug 3, 2016.

1. Corzhens

CorzhensWell-Known Member

Threads:
    I have a friend who always try to pay with post dated checks for amounts that are above 10,000 pesos (around $200). Her check is 30 days after so that means she will be using the bought item for 30 days before the payment takes effect. It's a Neat trick that she applies and fortunately most of her purchases are like that. I'm now thinking if that trick can also work for me. But my husband cautioned me because I work in a bank and that might not be a good practice for me.

2. ReadmeByAmy

ReadmeByAmyMember

Threads:
    Before when I had still a small business I had a bank checking account and I am using it for business purposes only when I am paying my suppliers. But I am never using it to pay for my personal purchases or obligations. It is still my choice to always pay in cash when ever I want to buy something. And one thing I don't like the idea that I had already use or consume the items that I bought then it is not yet paid. You can never tell when you issue a postdated check and then when the date of issue falls due and you do not have the money to fund for the check that you issued then it will be a problem.

3. Theo

TheoWell-Known Member

Threads:
    You aren't allowed to officially pay with post dated checks, and before debit cards people did do this only for convenience and they had a guarantee number. Many places don't accept checks in the UK any longer, and I only write them for my dad who still prefers them, but when he sees there is a charge for checks and none for debit cards he will go for the debit card.

In the UK at least if the check is post dated it won't be accepted, because it is now considered a tactic of fraudsters.

4. Lushlala

LushlalaWell-Known Member

Threads: